What Android Permissions does Pocket require and why?

When installing Pocket on Android version 5.x or earlier, you will be presented with a set of permissions that the app requires. If you’re on Android 6 or above, you’ll be able to selectively allow these permissions.

Here's a brief explanation of why Pocket needs these permissions.

Network Communication

Full Internet Access

Pocket uses your device’s internet connection to sync, download content from your list for offline access and display webpages you open. Pocket gives you a variety of settings to control what and when content is downloaded and synced. To learn how to configure what is downloaded for offline access, click here

View Network State

Pocket uses this to check if the device has an internet connection available before it attempts to sync.

View WiFi State

Same as “View Network State” above.

Receive data from Internet

Same as “Full Internet Access” above. Also it allows the app to receive cloud (push) messages if you choose to enable the “Instant Sync” setting.

Storage

Modify/delete USB storage contents modify/delete SD card contents

Pocket can save its offline cache to external storage (SD card) to help save local memory on your device. If your device has an SD card, Pocket will save its cache there by default. However, this storage location is completely up to you and can be changed in Pocket’s Settings.

Other Application UI

Draw over other apps

Pocket use this permission for two features:

To help new users learn how to save to Pocket, users can choose to launch a helpful guide that is shown in an overlay. This overlay goes away after completing the first save and returning to Pocket.

When saving to Pocket from other apps, Quick Save Actions will appear for a short time, allowing users to easily Tag and Share the item that was just saved. When no action is taken, the overlay will automatically hide. Those who prefer not to see Quick Save Actions can disable this feature in Settings.

Your Accounts

Use Accounts on this Device

This permission lets Pocket provide the option to log in or sign up with Google. If a user does not wish to log in or sign up to Pocket with Google, they can use the email address/password method instead.

This permission does not give Pocket the ability to post anything to your Google+ profile, see any information about your connections or view anything you or your connections have posted.

Pocket users who have connected their Google account can revoke access at any time. For more information please visit our Google Sign-On FAQ.

Your Social Information

Read Contacts

Here’s how we use this permission:

When using Send to Friend to share an item, we will suggest names or email addresses as you type them. When you tap send, we will deliver the shared item to the recipient’s email inbox and in Pocket.

If you optionally let help you locate your friends on Pocket using your contacts, your contacts’ information will never leave the device or be stored on Pocket’s servers.

For more details on Pocket's use of the Read Contacts permission, please read How and Why Pocket Asks for the Read Contacts Permission.

System Tools

Prevent tablet/phone from sleeping

Pocket uses this setting to keep your list synced and up-to-date for you automatically. Depending on your background syncing preferences, Pocket will occasionally sync while your device is on stand-by. During this brief time, Pocket will keep your device “awake”. When it is finished, it lets it go back to sleep. If you prefer Pocket not to sync in the background, you can disable this functionality in Pocket’s Settings.

Automatically start at boot

When you turn on your device, Pocket may configure some features in the background according to your syncing and notification preferences. This process is extremely fast, and will not significantly impact start up speed or battery life. Pocket aims to be a “good citizen” on your device and avoid running when it’s not needed.

In-app Purchases

Make purchases within the app

Pocket Premium, our subscription-based premium service can be purchased within the app. Purchasing this subscription is entirely optional.

Still need help? Contact Pocket Support Contact Pocket Support